Future Plans

There is enough room now to properly organize the library. Now comes the difficult part. Cataloging and then shelving the 4,000 plus volumes will be a long and tedious process. There are a few grants out there that I could use to fund cataloging and circulation software. But for now I have started a list on WorldCat.org which you can find on the sidebar or by clicking here. This list is not searchable so cannot be used for finding items. I hope that I can export this list into cataloging software when we purchase it.

I created a preliminary layout for how the library is to be organized. As I have stated before, the library will utilize the Library of Congress classification system. You can view the Library of Congress classification system outline here.

Layout for the front room

Layout for the second room

Section P is Language and Literature; I am assuming that the library has more on this subject than any other, which is why I have dedicated three bookcases to it.

Layout for the back room

Unfortunately the books will not organize themselves.

Leave a Reply

